The development of professional tennis and its stars
Home > Tennis news > Grand slam games: what’s new

Grand slam games: what’s new

Grand slam games: what’s new

The term “Grand Slam” in tennis refers to the four most prestigious major tournaments that make up the annual tour calendar. These tournaments are renowned not only for their historic significance and high level of competition but also for the substantial ranking points and prize money they offer. Winning a Grand Slam is considered one of the highest achievements in the sport. Here’s an overview of each of the Grand Slam tournaments:

1. Australian Open

  • Founded: 1905
  • Location: Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Australia
  • Surface: Hard court (Plexicushion)
  • When Played: Mid-January
  • Notable: Known as “The Happy Slam” due to its friendly atmosphere and modern facilities. The Australian Open was the first Grand Slam tournament to feature indoor play during extreme weather conditions, thanks to its retractable roofs.

2. French Open

  • Founded: 1891
  • Location: Roland Garros Stadium, Paris, France
  • Surface: Clay
  • When Played: Late May to early June
  • Notable: The French Open is the only Grand Slam played on clay, a surface that slows the ball and produces a high bounce, taking away the advantage of fast servers and benefiting players who excel in long, physical rallies. It is widely considered the most physically demanding tennis tournament in the world.

3. Wimbledon

  • Founded: 1877
  • Location: The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, London, England
  • Surface: Grass
  • When Played: Late June to early July
  • Notable: Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and arguably the most prestigious. Traditionally, it adheres to a strict all-white dress code for players. The tournament is known for maintaining various long-standing traditions, including a lack of sponsor advertising around the courts.

4. US Open

  • Founded: 1881
  • Location: USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, New York City, USA
  • Surface: Hard court (DecoTurf)
  • When Played: Late August to early September
  • Notable: The US Open is characterized by its energetic atmosphere and is historically the most innovative of the Grand Slams, being the first to use tiebreaks, night matches, and the last to adopt the Hawk-Eye electronic review system for challenging line calls.

Importance and Impact

Winning one of these tournaments is a significant achievement that can define a player’s career. Winning all four in a single calendar year is known as achieving the “Calendar Grand Slam,” an extremely rare feat accomplished by only a handful of players in history, such as Rod Laver and Steffi Graf. Winning all four tournaments at any point in a player’s career, not necessarily in one year, is known as a “Career Grand Slam,” achieved by legends like Andre Agassi, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, and Serena Williams.

The Grand Slam tournaments not only offer the highest levels of competition but also draw massive global attention, significantly impacting players’ rankings and legacies. They are the highlights of the tennis year and are central to the history and development of the sport.